top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydney Beveroth

Stay in School Kids.

Anyways, I have said it once and I will say it again: I love Florence. This experience continues to be phenomenal and my classes are going decently. I say “decently” because I just took my mid-term tests and although I feel okay about them...I will continue to feel uneasy until I get my grades back. Class work has gotten crazy in the past couple weeks which is why I did get behind on this blog. But I am back! And I have learned from my procrastination, and will try my best not to let my homework and studies pile up as much as I had.

Do not get me wrong, I certainly took time for breaks away from studying! I went hiking in a small town outside of Florence city center called Fiesole. There you can find a cute town on a hill that overlooks the city of Florence and has hiking trails. The trails, like everything else, are a history lesson in themselves. Up in the hills are old mines (now closed) for pietra serena, a grey stone that was used in many statues and buildings in Florence. Also, one trail in specific leads to the space where Leonardo da Vinci tested his first flying machine.



Fiesole was also inhabited by the Etruscans in ancient times and then the Romans. There are still ancient ruins of a temple, Roman baths, and theatre that can be toured. I may or may not have gone here two days in a row because the hike was so tranquil. It was so nice to get away from the city noise for a couple hours and be surrounded by birds chirping!




Also I leave for my spring break in Ireland and Scotland on March 21 (tomorrow!!) and am so ecstatic! This will be my first time leaving Italy this semester and as much as I love it here, it will be refreshing to be in countries where there is not a language barrier. STAY TUNED

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page